13 Irish Schools Titles for East Munster Athletes

There were lots of exciting performances from our East Munster athletes at the GloHealth Irish Schools Track & Field Championships in Tullamore on Saturday 30th May.  East Munster athletes took home 13 individual gold medals, 9 silver & 9 bronze & two sets of silver Relay medals won by Scoil Mhuire, Carrick-On-Suir in the Junior Girls & the Ursuline Waterford in the Intermediate Girls competitions.

One of the performances of the day came from Daniel Ryan, Thurles CBS who jumped 7.10m in the Inter Long Jump to equal the Schools record & exceed the European Youth Standard of 6.80m. Shortly after his record performance, Ryan ran the Inter 100m Hurdles to win gold & post a time of 13.07, just outside the 12.97 record. Another great double gold medal performance was given by Phoebe Murphy, Loreto Clonmel who ran the Senior Girls 100m in a time of 11.72 to win gold & dip under both the World Youth standard of 11.85 & the European Junior “A” standard of 11.80. She also ran 24.21 in the 200m dipping under the European Junior “A” standard but both runs registered an illegal wind so won’t count this time. There were also double gold medal wins for Sean Mockler, Thurles CBS in the Junior Hammer & Discus, gold & silver medal wins for David Ryan, Thurles CBS in the Junior Long Jump & 200m & Miriam Daly, Scoil Mhuire, Carrick-On-Suir in the Junior 75mH & 100m with silver & bronze medal wins for Jack Ryan, Thurles CBS in the Minor Long Jump & Shot Putt.

Gold medals were also won by Liam McDonagh, Thurles CBS in the Junior Walk, Kelly Anne Doyle, Scoil Mhuire Carrick-On-Suir in the Senior 400mH, Orlaith O’Brien, Ursuline Waterford in the Intermediate Javelin, Seamie Fennell, St. Augustine’s College in the Senior Pole Vault & Aaron Egan, High School Clonmel  in the Senior Walk. Silver medals went to Anthony Tobin, High School Clonmel in the Senior Walk, Aoife Vaughan Witts, Borrisokane CC in the Senior Hammer, Jake Vermeer, Comeragh College in the Junior 80mH, Eoghan Flynn, Dungarvan CBS in the Intermediate Discus, Yuri Kanash, St. Augustine’s College in the Senior Pole Vault & Brian Naughton, Nenagh College in the Junior Hammer. Bronze medals were won by Claire Rafter, Ursuline Thurles in the Junior 1500m, Ciara Cummins, Ursuline Thurles in the Senior 1500m S/C, Adam Dooley, Colaiste Pobal Ros Cre in the Junior Long Jump, Rachel Stephens, GC Phort Lairge in the Junior Discus, Orla O’Connor, Waterpark College in the Intermediate 2km Walk, Megan Dunford, St. Augustine’s College in the Senior Pole Vault, Craig Cloona, St. Augustine’s College in the Junior Pole Vault & Sean Curran, Dungarvan CBS in the Senior 1500m. Top School for East Munster was undoubtly Thurles CBS who won the Junior Boys Perpetual Trophy for Best Scoring School winning on 45 points well ahead of Bangor Grammer 2nd with 24 points. They also posted a 3rd place finish in the Minor Boys competition. The Ursuline Waterford also scored well winning 2nd place rankings in the Intermediate Girls competition.

See Results from Irish Schools T&F Championships here.

See AAI Review here.       AVIVA All-Ireland Schools T&F Report 30.05.15 (Munster Report)